IF YOU BELIEVE FRUIT JUICE “NOT FROM CONCENTRATE” IS A BETTER QUALITY JUICE THAN “FROM CONCENTRATE”… THINK AGAIN AMIGO!

IF YOU BELIEVE FRUIT JUICE “NOT FROM CONCENTRATE” IS A BETTER QUALITY JUICE THAN “FROM CONCENTRATE”… THINK AGAIN AMIGO!

In the 1980s Tropicana coined the phrase “not from concentrate” to distinguish its pasteurized orange juice from the cheaper reconstituted “from concentrate” juice that began appearing alongside it in the refrigerator section of supermarkets. The idea was to convince consumers that pasteurized orange juice is a fresher, overall better product and therefore worth the higher price. It worked. Over the next five years sales of Tropicana’s pasteurized juice doubled and profits almost tripled.

In fact, “not from concentrate,” a.k.a pasteurized orange juice, is not more expensive than “from concentrate” because it is closer to fresh squeezed. Rather, it is because storing full strength pasteurized orange juice is more costly and elaborate than storing the space saving concentrate from which “from concentrate” is made. The technology of choice at the moment is aseptic storage, which involves stripping the juice of oxygen, a process known as “deaeration,” so it doesn’t oxidize in the million gallon tanks in which it can be kept for upwards of a year.

SOURCE http://civileats.com/2009/05/06/freshly-squeezed-the-truth-about-orange-juice-in-boxes/

http://civileats.com/2010/01/25/getting-fresh-an-interview-with-alissa-hamilton-on-orange-juice/

6 thoughts on “IF YOU BELIEVE FRUIT JUICE “NOT FROM CONCENTRATE” IS A BETTER QUALITY JUICE THAN “FROM CONCENTRATE”… THINK AGAIN AMIGO!”

  1. I try to eat fresh uncooked and unprocessed, other than cleaned and cut, fruits and vegetables and clean plant and animal non beef protein without a lot of sauces or additives, other than some minor seasoning, everyday. And avoid a lot of fat or carbs. And watch my calorie intake to avoid putting on non muscle weight. I try to stay in the 5’10”, 150 to 155 pound range. Sometimes I go over or under a little bit, but not much.

  2. I heard that it’s best to ONLY eat the fruit. There’s too much concentrated sugar in the juice–possibly shocking the body’s system. One should juice raw, organic carrots with certain vegetables and greens for the healthy way.

  3. I cannot speak of “not from concentrate” , however, I used to work in the juice industry at Broker level. Major companies purchased from same suppliers and some would water down (change brix levels) of frozen concentrated juices once received through us and that is why when one purchases concentrated juice and added normal 3 cans of water…the juice was tasteless. Some would add pulp from fruit grown in other areas of the world and not from areas where the fruit juice came from. This same Brokerage Co. also owned a manufacturing company in Mexico whereby they were canning fruit pieces (ie; fruit salad in juice) and I stopped purchasing this type of canned/glass/plastic jars of fruit when I discovered that manufacturer in Mexico had no washroom facilities for employees….get my gist…no washroom facilities! Please note that we never dealt with nor purchased from Tropicana as they didn’t sell to anyone else at that time.

  4. Hi Deiter, I’ve been following your blogs and reblogs for quite some time now and I just want to say that I really appreciate your blogs on food. I’ve tried to eat healthy since I was a teenager and I read labels and preach to my friends and family about the additives that are in processed food and the things they do to food and what it does or doesn’t do in your body. Some listen but others look at me like I have three heads. I swear that some people act like they keep their heads in the sand. Oh well! At least I know and if they eat at my house I won’t be giving them food that isn’t compatible with life.
    Thanks so much, you are so appreciated. Keep putting it out there.
    much love, Carol

Hit reply and send your smoke signal

